Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed by Michael Wills
Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed by Michael Wills

Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed by Michael Wills

Our guest today, is Michael Wills whose fascinating book, Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed takes its readers on a wonderful historical journey.

Here is more about this book:

The year is 950 AD and the story starts in the town of Birka on an island in the great lake which covers a vast area inland of what is today Stockholm. It was a wealthy town at the centre of an international trading network where merchants from as far afield as Turkey, Russia and Ireland met to buy, sell and barter.

The wealth of the island also attracted unwelcome visitors and frequently the Birka warriors had to defend their homes and families against gangs of Viking raiders. The warriors always managed to vanquish the attackers until one day they were tricked by the most feared and fiendish foes, the Jomsviking.

These raiders had their base on an island north of what is today Poland and roamed the Baltic waters looting coastal towns and capturing men, women and children to sell in slave markets in Europe and the Orient.

When the adults from the town were kidnapped by the Jomsviking raiders, Ahl, Ingir and their friends manage to avoid capture. They set off in pursuit of the raiders’ ships on a quest to rescue the island prisoners. They avoid capture by a treacherous sea captain and eventually in a dramatic action, manage to free the prisoners.

Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed by Michael Wills
Michael Wills

About Michael Wills

Michael Wills was born on the Isle of Wight and educated at the Priory Boys School and Carisbrooke Grammar School. He trained as a teacher at St Peter’s College, Saltley, Birmingham, before working at a Secondary school in Kent for two years.

After re-training to become a teacher of English as a Foreign Language he worked in Sweden for thirteen years. During this period he wrote several English language teaching books. His teaching career has included time working in rural Sweden, a sojourn that first sparked his now enduring interest in Scandinavian history and culture – an interest that after many years of research, both academic and in the field, led him to write Finn’s Fate and the sequel novel, Three Kings, One Throne. In 2015 he published a Viking story for children, “Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed”. This is the first of three books in the Children of the Chieftain series.

It was on a visit to New York in 2012 that Michael developed an interest in the American War of Independence. Subsequent research in Canada and USA led him to write a novel about the life of a common soldier in the British Army of 1777, an army charged by the British Monarch to retain the 13 American colonies for Britain.

Although a lot of his spare time is spent with grandchildren, he also has a wide range of interests including researching for future books, writing, playing the guitar, and electronics. He spends a month a year sailing his boat which is currently in Scandinavia.

Visit Michael’s site for more information – Michael Wills Author

Facebook – Michael Wills Author

Twitter – Michael Wills Author


Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed (Kindle Edition)

List Price: Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only


Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed by Michael Wills
%d bloggers like this: